Naive and too optimistic?

Hi.

As you may have read before, I am applying to go to law school in Nigeria. For those who don’t, you can read my first blog 😉 . I, unfortunately, like to stress myself out. Before I write any exam, I go through a ritual of worrying that I won’t pass or I don’t know as much as I should or I should have started reading months ahead of time not weeks or days before 🙂 . There are numerous forms I have to fill in and I’m already stressed but hopefully by next week, I’ll have sent everything off.

Keeping my fingers crossed so that I get in because I can’t wait to go to Nigeria. I’ve been looked at like I am a bit crazy. One of the responses has been, “People in Nigeria are looking for ways to go London but you grew up in London and want to go to Nigeria.” 🙂 I love London and thanks to my parents, I have been given an opportunity (in terms of education, health and so on) that others have not been able to access. I just want a change of environment and lately, I’ve been on a Nigeria/Africa craze. These are the examples.

1. I’ve been reading books by one of the greatest literary giants, the late Chinua Achebe.

There Was A Country by Chinua Achebe

2. I’ve been watching the Africa Channel a lot and have been driving people mad with it, 🙂

I’ve been watching two shows in particular. The first is called ‘Scandal!’. It is a South African drama which is centered around a media house which publishes a magazine called Scandal.

The second is the popular Nigeria soap opera called Tinsel. This is about the rivalry between two production houses.

I’ve also been watching Nigerian Idol. Moses is going to win. Debbie Rise is ok but Moses is the better singer. This weekend, the winner of Nigerian Idol will be decided. Thank God this is the last episode. Yinka Davies can rest her lungs and stop yelling like a Nigerian bus conductor! The judges tend to lie even if the singer is not so great. I didn’t really like Safeeyat much but when she left, I realised she is a good singer and Debbie Rise should have been voted off. Whoever is in charge should ask Omawunmi whether Moses can release his version of her song ‘Today na Today’. I loved it!

Today na Today – Omawunmi:

Today na Today- Moses’ Performance:

3. I try to read the Nigerian Vanguard Daily.

4. I have been watching Channels TV regularly. I love their Sunrise programme. Yes, they are the ones that started the whole ‘Oga at the top’ incident! “Ww. NSCDC… That’s all” 🙂

 

I’m not going to list everything because I don’t want to make this blog too long. Some would argue that because I am not in Nigeria and I have grown up differently that as much as I try, I don’t know what’s happening. I have been told to my face, in a “joking” manner, that I am not a proper Nigerian but that’s a post for another day.

I’ve gone off track from what I am meant to be talking about :). I love Nigeria so much that I can see how people may think that I am being too optimistic about moving there. I did go to Secondary school in Nigeria and my family and I go on holidays every year, however, it’s not the same as living there. I’ve been reminded about how electricity isn’t constant, the wifi is not that great, the issues with water and I’ve been told things about the Nigerian Law School which aren’t necessarily great but these are things that I am going to have to endure and work around. The funniest thing I’ve been told is that I am going to turn shades darker! I said I would use sunscreen but I got laughter as a response. If I roast in the sun, so be it. 🙂 I am keeping in mind some of these things. It’s not like I’m going to be so naive to think that Nigeria hasn’t got issues which other countries have advanced from, however, I am not going to let that stop me. People are making bets about how long I will last. I should place money on those bets. If, no, when I finish law school, I can use that money and go shopping. 🙂

Thanks for reading this blog. It’s nice to be able to share my journey with others. Hopefully, I will stop procrastinating and post more. I procrastinate in general 😐 and that is a trait I need to work on especially with the profession I want to go into. It’s not that serious (I’m not in denial 🙂 ). I just tend to put things off a little.

NaijaBrit88

32 thoughts on “Naive and too optimistic?

  1. I really love your optimism! To be honest you are keeping up with the Naija times more than myself because I don’t watch Tinsel, lost track of Nigerian Idols and I have a copy of but haven’t gotten down to read Achebe’s book… 😦 I do read the dailes and keep up with social media, so I didn’t miss Oga at the top, heehee!
    You’ll be alright, I can see that already! 😀

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I can’t wait to go to Nigeria! I watch Tinsel because it’s available on the Africa Channel but they’re behind. Found out about it only this year. 🙂 I haven’t finished There Was A Country yet. I’ve been slacking but I hope to finish this weekend.

      Which dailies do you keep up with? It’s a struggle for me to finish the Vanguard. I sometimes skip it for a few days. 🙂

      • Oh, Vanguard is a good start, I read it myself. Punch too (http://www.punchng.com/). Yes the online versions can take days to consume, and each day has fresher stories, phew! The others are paperbacks (Guardian & Sun) and tweet updates (Nigeria News Desk & Channels). If you want Nigerian entertainment news/gossip/updates/weddings, Linda Ikeji & Bella Naija are good for you!

  2. Pingback: Update #1 | Naija Brit- Thinking out loud...

  3. Pingback: Vlisco | NaijaBrit- Thinking out loud...

  4. I’m really impressed by your enthusiasm. And trust me, it’s not misguided. There really is a lot to look forward to in Nigeria. I must warn you about Tinsel though; the episodes shown in Nigeria are waaaay ahead of what you watch on the African Channel. You might wanna brace yourself up for any spoilers when you come :).

    • Thanks! I can’t wait to go! Once I found out that the Africa Channel was behind I started watching segments on YouTube and read spoilers online. Lol! I watch it for the bits that I’ve missed. 🙂

  5. Hi dear,while reading your love for this great nation i came close to tears, i have lived in Nigeria all my life except recently that i moved to Paris for my MBA and occasional visit to the UK and U.S. I can never leave anywhere else except Nigeria.I love Nigeria deeply,i believe in the future of Nigeria. I believe there is something the world knows about Nigeria and Africa in general that is been hidden,because if we discover we will rule the world. And good enough we are discovering who we are. Have you seen TY Bello the Future? You will love it.

    • Hi. Thank you for reading 🙂 It makes me happy when I hear or read about the optimism and enthusiasm of others for Nigeria. There are some that have written it off as a lost cause and they wonder why it’s in such a state! I believe that showing optimism for Nigeria will make it the great country it should be. I haven’t seen The Future but I’m going to look it up right now. 🙂

  6. wow It feels like I am reading my thoughts…I am making the same move this year….something I have avoided for years. Have you submitted all your docs yet? all the best. I might bump into you on campus 🙂

    • Great minds think alike! Lol. Maybe we will bump into each other. 🙂 I have submitted everything. I will give in the medical form and the other one to be signed by a court official when I am in Nigeria. What about you? Have you submitted everything?

      • Yes I submitted all the docs except for the medical form… Strange it takes so long to hear back. It’s such a big move. So many feelings all at once. Glad I’m not the only one tho.

      • It’s better when you’re not in it alone. 🙂 It does take a long time for a response. I got so paranoid, I called them three times. 🙂

  7. Hmmm, Nigeria is not an easy place to live especially when you’ve been living in Europe (and enjoying living there), for a long time, mostly because of (lack of) infrastructure and security. But, home is where the heart is, and where there is a will, there is a way. Go, go, go! I’d love to read your posts after you’ve lived three months in Nigeria :). If you have time, you can read some of my posts on returning home. I’m glad you enjoyed reading my open letter to Akpos!

    • True. It’s not the easiest place to live in. 🙂 I will definitely post updates when I move and will read your posts on returning to Nigeria. Your Akpos post led me to read Akpos jokes on Facebook for an hour, lol! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  8. Good for you bro! God bless Nigeria my country and the pride in me is bursting loose, that I’m an African boy! You will be okay bro, less I forget. Gratitude for following my blog and liking my posts. You the best!

  9. I’m extremely amazed at how similar we are…….i also tend to over stress during exams or be overly anxious when certain events are around the corner…….and this was actually how i stumbled upon your blog…….I have read through almost every post, and i am glad to have found this blog as i’m hoping to start law school this july, and i really like to have as much information as i can. IIts a good thing you’re optimistic about Nigeria, i’ve been back for almost a year now (currently doing my nysc), so i can deff relate to the ups and downs you have experienced, but it sure does get better with time and with one having an open mind. Anyway thanks a lot for the useful tools, and i would be sure keep up with your posts……..btw, you mentioned attending secondary school in nigeria? chances may be slim i know, but i actually have a feeling that i know you :-p

    • Hi Kike.

      Sorry for the delay in response. Packing and running about before we all have to leave has been manic. Great people are alike, that’s why we’re similar 🙂 Thank you for reading my blog. I really appreciate it and it’s always nice to know that it’s being read. Sometimes, it feels like I’m talking to myself.

      Congratulations on nearly being in Nigeria for a year. I will be passing the one year in Nigeria milestone myself. *dancing*. It isn’t easy. I have had a limited experience being within the law school and I can’t wait to experience Nigeria at its fullest. Having a closed mind in this country won’t get anyone hoping to make it here far.

      Congratulations on your NYSC. I guess you’ll be passing out soon. That is my next step so maybe I’ll be getting info from you. 🙂 I’m happy the blog has been useful to you. I can help with your questions and necessary information about the law school. It will be great if you start in July. Maybe we will cross paths. Maybe we have crossed paths before? 🙂

      NaijaBrit88

  10. I am happy to help out with any info you need :-)……..started my application for law school today, do you know if we need to print the application form itself, i’m not sure if the user guide says we need to…….i was only able to print the acknowledgement slip and the reference form B……….also did you send your application by post or scan/fax? and finally, how much do you think would be fine for living expenses per month…

    • Hi.

      Thank you so much. I’ll be taking to up on that. 🙂

      You’ll need to print out the application form. You have to send it to the secretary to the Council of Legal Education along with two passport photographs. I sent it by post. The best way to send it is through DHL so you can make sure it gets there. You have to also make sure that the University sends it through DHL or a reputable company. If they send it by Royal Mail, it will get to NIPOST and they can be finicky. NIPOST were good with me but my university sent mine three times and I only two came. The second because I requested for it to be sent other than through Royal Mail.

      How much you’ll need in a month depends. Some people’s eyes may pop out but I would say just under 50,000 Naira. I know people who can spend less. I can spend less but that’s when I check my spending. You don’t need more than 750 – 1000 Naira a day for food but when you consider expenses such as toiletries, hiring people to fetch water and wash your clothes, going out with friends, buying hand outs and past questions and etc, spending increases. This occurs randomly, but there are times that my friends and I look at our wallets and we ask ourselves where the money went or say “I thought I had more than this in my wallet/purse!”.

      I can remember when I first got here, my dad gave me an amount and I can’t even remember how long it took me to spend it. Part of the reason was I was being ripped off by someone who wasn’t all there and because I was a JJC. It helps if you appreciate the value of the Naira. Things may be cheaper in Nigeria than abroad but more money is spent here. When I first got here, I was looking at things like “This is cheaper than I would get it in London!” and because of that I would spend more. I’d like to think I’m wiser now.

      Sorry. I think I went over what you asked. 🙂 If you go to User Guide on mynlsp, hover over bar 1 and click General information, it will help you. Good luck with your application.

      • LOL…….thanks very much for you analogy :-). Its almost the same with NYSC camp, so many ways you can spend your money without even realising.
        I finally got round to printing the forms, hopefully everything goes fine……

        Thanks once again, you have been really helpful……I am actually really looking forward to starting law school,and hopefully our paths cross sometime
        Take care, and goodluck with the rest of your course 🙂

      • Lol! You’re welcome. Don’t worry. Everything will go ok. The application process is simple. If you use a good courier, you won’t get any surprises like I did.

        Thank you so much. It would be great if our paths cross. 🙂 I wish you all the best.

  11. I really needed this; thank you so much. I will be applying to join the Nigerian Law School next year and I have been panicking because their website is not very informative. Hence, I have been researching the experiences of people who went there.

Leave a Reply

