Americanah

Hi.

I have ordered Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and I can’t wait to read it. I am still reading There Was a Country by Chinua Achebe and I will continue this night. I am going to review both books. I just need to finish one and have the other delivered. I don’t have time to read all these books but I love to read. I love Chimamanda’s writing and have read her books. I am interested in this book also because I have heard that she has made comments on the Weave vs Natural debate. I wear weaves as a personal choice and it infuriates me when other women and men make comments about how being natural is better. Anyway, to go into that will take time and I have already posted two posts today. This is my third. 🙂 I will continue when I publish my review of the book.

NaijaBrit88

10 thoughts on “Americanah

  1. I just finished the book. Chimamanda has done it again, it’s absolutely un-put-downable !!!. Though I can’t say I’m too happy about how it ended, but no spoilers here 🙂

    • I wasn’t so happy with the ending of Half of a Yellow Sun either. 🙂 Going by what you’re saying, I’m going to be walking into lamp posts and walls while reading her book. I didn’t move with her last two. 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad you like my thoughts on Americanah, have you read the book yet? She’s one of my favorite authors. It had wit, insight and a certain lyricalness that’s unique and beautiful.

    • You’re welcome. I haven’t read it yet but I’m really dying too as I’ve had it delivered already. I have to finish There Was a Country by Chinua Achebe first. 🙂

    • I can’t wait either but I have to get through There Was A Country by Chinua Achebe first. 🙂 I normally would go for paperback, however, I couldn’t wait and really wanted the book so I got hardback. Hardback generally lasts longer so it is the better option though it is annoying when the cover keeps slipping. 😉

  3. Pingback: Getting a new passport… | NaijaBrit- Thinking out loud...

Leave a Reply

