Welcome to Nigeria (Part 2)

Hello! Part 1 is here if you haven’t read it.

The bus dropped us off at the local airport and for some reason I was thinking ‘Wow! I’m in Abuja’ until I remembered that it was the local airport and I was catching a domestic flight. The local airport was so disorganised. I waited a bit before someone helped me with my luggage and my ticket. He told me that he had helped me get an earlier flight and asked if there was anything I could give him. So far two people had helped me and had asked me for money. I told him I didn’t have any money left, which I didn’t, and thanked him for helping me. 2 minutes later, I realised that he hadn’t gotten me an earlier flight. My flight was early anyway. It just so happened that Lynxxx was at the airport.

I enjoyed my domestic flight much more than my international one. When I got to Abuja, I looked around. Abuja is a nice place but my first destination was the hospital for medical check up. Like a Londonah who had never been to a Nigerian hospital, I kept on running back and forth with the money to pay for the tests. Living in London with the NHS made me forget that I would have to pay. I was told by a staff member that I ate too much indomie because I have a stomach (it is small oh and it is not my fault).

I registered at a second hospital to get the rest done but I was told to come back for an eye test in September so I just thought ‘Forget it.’ There are some really nice staff members at the hospital. A doctor helped me register and made sure my file was ready so that I could see the doctor on time, a nice man helped me get my tests done much quicker and a nurse helped chase up my records. Others were so rude and god forbid if they should smile, their stone faces would crack. One time, I was one of the first to be called but from the time I entered the hospital, it took me around three hours before I could see the doctor. The waiting room was so full, people had to stand. The nurse with the stone face tried to smile when she was telling us that the wait would not be longer. The hospitals I went to were good but thank God I hardly get sick because I don’t want to see a hospital any time soon.

Law school is ok. I am managing. Thanks to T Mobile’s stupid block, I cannot get my phone unlocked in Abuja even though I have had it over 6 months. I’ll have to get it done in Lagos. Hopefully, I will be able to blog more. I have to go to a particular place for WIFI. I have to get a modem. I did get ripped off from someone who was meant to help me. Shame on them. When I told people how much I was being charged for things, they were looking at me like I was on crack. Instead of me to try and get a first class in Law, I was being made a First Class Mugu/Maga. Anyway, I am out of that situation so it is good.

RANDOM THINGS

  1. It is not everyone that offers to help you that you should allow to help you. I don’t even mean the people who ask you upfront for money because that is better; I am talking about the people who are taking money from you, claiming that they are helping you even though they don’t need it.
  2. Do not forget repellent when you are going to a country that you know has mosquitoes that are flying around you as if you are Mr Biggs or McDonalds. Also, don’t forget to take malaria tablets at least a week before you go to anywhere like Nigeria. If you don’t take precaution, the way you will suffer from malaria will be severe.
  3. When you are travelling to Nigeria, don’t spend all the cash on you on food especially when you don’t even have a bank account in Nigeria and someone is picking you from the airport. You still have to pay for trolleys oh!
  4. Make sure your phone can take Nigerian sim cards before you travel.
  5. There are a lot of nice people in Nigeria but watch out for some of the sketchy people too.
  6. If you need help you will get help but please refer to number 1.
  7. Anyone going to Bar 1, June is part of the rainy season so please bring extra shoes in case the rain damages them. You don’t need to bring expensive shoes either.
  8. When buying things and the vendor gives you a price, bring the price down before you buy or at least ask someone before you end up paying for more than you are meant too.
  9. Also for those who want to go to Bar 1. You can rent the big drums for water. If you would like to buy them, they are not 3500 Naira like some “people” will want to tell you. After I spent that amount, like the mugu I am, I realised that you can buy it much cheaper than that. Under 2000 self. From what I can remember between 1200 and 1700.

I will try to blog more if I don’t have a lot of reading to do. Not much is happening that I can blog about anyway. If there’s anyone that would like to ask me questions about law school I would be happy to help. My email is NaijaMugu…. (just joking). It’s NaijaBrit88@Gmail.com or go to contact me on the right hand side of the page. There’s a link. 🙂

Thanks for reading

NaijaBrit88

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Nigeria (Part 2)

  1. Awwh, you are going through the initiation process! You’re taking everything in good stride too, congrats! I have a friend there who hardly gives me the inside scoop so I’m looking forward to more of your posts. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award!!!! | NaijaBrit88- Thinking out loud...

  3. Pingback: The Art of Travelling in Nigeria | NaijaBrit88- Thinking out loud...

Leave a Reply

