The Art of Making Resolutions

Happy New Year Everyone!!!

Sayonara 2013! This year has been full of ups and downs like any other year. I hope that 2014 will be a great year for everyone reading this. I thank God that once again, my loved ones and I have made it through another year.Last year, at the dying minute, I made a New Years Resolution which I broke within ten minutes of Jan 1st 2013. *covering my face in shame*. What is the fastest time you have broken your resolution in? Is this yet another year of “New Year, New me”? I am not one to make New Years Resolutions and I actually laughed when I thought of people making them but ended up making another set which I can only hope and pray will of course stick to! It’s easy to make a resolution but it takes hard work and determination to keep it up. What should be my first New Years Resolution is: Be more proactive!

Everytime a new year comes round I think the exact same thing, “It’s January. December is so far away.” Then December comes round and I’m asking myself where the year went. 2013 is the year that my family and I went through some things and continuously came out on top! 2013 is the year I finally took the plunge and moved to Nigeria for good. 2013 is the year that I made great friends that I hope to remain friends with in future. 2014 is the year that I hope to make further changes in my life. 2014 is the year that I hope to evolve personally. 2014 is the year that I hope to be a qualified Legal Practitioner in Nigeria. What was 2013 to you and what do you hope 2014 will be?

NaijaBrit88

2 thoughts on “The Art of Making Resolutions

  1. 10 minutes into the new year? That’s the shortest record ever, haha! I think I broke mine about 6 months into the year, but I’ll try harder this time. Instead of making one major resolution, I’ve decided to set mini goals that are easier to achieve (or not) in order to help with my overall decision.
    Because last year ended on a sober note it was difficult to acknowledge the milestones I had made, but I think it is a humbling experience and a motivating reason to make 2014 count, and by God’s grace it will

    • Yes oh! Ten minutes! I set the bar too high for myself. Your idea of setting mini goals is much better than what I end up doing every year. Amen, by God’s grace your 2014 will count!

Leave a Reply

