Happy New Year!!!

Happy New Year everyone!!!!

 

I am happy that 2015 is over, however, it was good for a few things and it did make me realise that this year has to be different. I would like to say a massive thank you to everyone that has been reading my blog, emailing me for help and subscribing. I hope you have a great year.

Fact: I don’t have 10 resolutions that I know I will not live up to. I can remember a year one day had not passed before I broke my resolution and forgot the rest. It doesn’t work if you have too many resolutions. We have to be realistic. My 2016 will be all about working on myself. I have one resolution and two rules to stick to.

Resolution: Do not procrastinate. This is such an annoying habit. I had it in mind to try and change before the new year but I put it off until January 1st. How predictable.

Rules: Cut out the people who you don’t need and don’t allow the behaviour of others to affect you. No, I’m not entering the new year with negativity but I have the habit of entertaining people who aren’t so great and it needs to stop. Sometimes, I try to make people around me happy and despite my best efforts it won’t work and then I end up miserable. I need to not let it affect me.

My 2016 will be about advancing in life, getting a job and basically improving myself. I hope that at the end of the year I will have a number of achievements and say that it was a good year.

Here’s to 2016. I hope that it will be a great year for everyone. This is what I’ll be looking out for:

  • Kayode Ewumi – Roll Safe. He’s a gifted actor and he’s so funny. Last month, I came across a comedy sketch that he directed and wrote with Tyrell Williams. The series follows a “hood documentary” about a guy who calls himself Roll Safe. It’s funny.
  • Jamie and Nikki. An Australian couple that documents their lives on YouTube.

 

  • Sahara Reporters. People may bash them but I continue to love them. I have to watch Dr Damages and Keeping it real with Adeola every week.

 

 

and also the “Social Media Bill”. I already don’t like it but before I make my comments on it, I’m going to read up on it more and follow the news on it.

Till next time,

NaijaBrit88.

 

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. A belated happy new year. Discovered your blog today and have read about five posts in a row. I just wonder what gave you the courage to move back to Nigeria and how are you able to still stay seeing the state of things.

    • Thank you. I wish you the same. Thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate it. I can’t pinpoint what gave me the courage. It did help that my dad was there to help me all the way and if I needed anything, I just had to ask my extended family.

      The only experience I prior to the move was boarding school and I was sheltered. If I wasn’t in school, then I wasn’t with my aunt, if I wasn’t with my aunt then I was in London. During that period, I would wake up every time NEPA took light and I would wail for my cousin to go down numerous flights of stairs so he could put on the generator.

      I did not realise that this time round, things would be different especially with the electricity situation. I believe that the good thing was I did not expect all the quirks of Nigeria that I know now.

      It’s a shame the state that Nigeria is in now. I guess we just have to overlook the bad things and make do with the good that we have. It doesn’t mean I haven’t complained! I complain, then I forget about it. I just have a love for my country which the few greedy, shameless and blatantly corrupt that are harming the country can never take away.

      Thank you for commenting 🙂

  2. Wow! I just “wasted” 2 important hours of my study time acquiring requisite information regarding Nigerian Law school admissions.Pardon the use of the quoted word above but it is appropriate because I am in the middle of preparation to sit a final LLM exams after completing an LLB last June. Hence, my indulgence in reading all of your blogs in one go just denied me of a piece of reading on Comparative law.
    The point here is that I enjoyed your write up so much that I couldn’t stop until I read everything. Of course, I wanted to find out some information on this year’s admission (which I still couldn’t), but your blog provided ample tool that should suffice any JJC (you should be familiar with the word by now) trying to attend the Nigeria Law School. What fascinated me was your pragmatism and perseverance amidst countless odds. I have heard a lot about the school, but the experience you shared is demystifying and has dous

    • Thank you! Your comment made me smile. I really appreciate you taking time out of your exam prep to read everything. That’s amazing. I hope your exam prep is going well. I know how it was when I was preparing to go; I was the JJC. I wish the law school would provide more information but reading blogs helped and I’m happy mine has been able to help. Law school is not easy but believe me, you’ll have fun especially if you find the right people to go through the journey with. If I’m able to get any information about this year’s admission, I’ll let you know. I wish you the best of luck with your exams 🙂

Leave a Reply

