Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017


You may have seen and heard this dozens of times but sincerely, 2016 was not the best year. It’s a contender for one of my worst. Honestly, if I didn’t have my immediate family and a few friends around, it would have been worse than it actually was and that’s not taking into account the major events that happened globally. In comparison with what others went through, I am definitely grateful that it wasn’t too bad.

I love to write and not being able to in the past year has been frustrating. It wasn’t due to lack of content. I wanted to write about the BBC drama on Damilola Taylor, Tomi Lahren’s ignorance of the Black Lives Matter movement and the Black Panthers and the Michel’le biopic I watched. I have notes written and drafts waiting to be published but I didn’t feel that they had been written with the enthusiasm of previous posts, rather they were forced. All it would take was something to affect my mood and I just gave up. Hopefully, it will be different this year. Rather than waiting to be inspired and take action, I’m going to be more pro active. It also helps that I’m going to take part in a 52 week writing challenge which I was convinced to by The Legal Hermit. Writing more comes under my theme for 2017 which I learnt from a recent Sisi Yemmie blog. I did come across some amazing things which I am going to share.

Loose Talk Podcast

The first is the Loose Talk Podcast, hosted by Ayomide Tayo, Steve Dede and Osagie Alonge who are all part of Pulse TV. They talk about a whole range of topics and I love the banter between them. The fact they get along so well, which you can tell by listening to them, makes the podcast even better. Their opinions are interesting and they make you think. I, personally, think that this is the best podcast in Nigeria. If anyone knows of any good Nigerian podcasts, please let me know. I’ve shared the latest podcast below.

On Becoming by Toke Makinwa


I hope to do a review on this soon. It is a great read and despite the controversy surrounding the book, there are a lot of lessons that people can take from it. In a way it’s like Beyoncé’s Lemonade in book form. I feel that a lot of people failed to look beyond her controversial one night stand advice and other issues such as it not being Nigerian to write a book on her marriage and expose everything. People were asking eye roll worthy questions and making statements such as:

‘How can someone whose life is not perfect give advice?’ I wonder whose life is perfect. These are the same people that will listen to the advice of others who also don’t have perfect lives including religious leaders. No judgment.

‘She’s seeking attention’ She’s damned if she says something and damned if she doesn’t.

‘She’s only doing this to make money’ Making money or not, this book has a lot of things that people can learn from. I personally wish I had read something like this years ago.

‘Our grandparents parents, ancestors, Amadioha,  didn’t do anything like this’ Common when relationships are being discussed like it’s everything our grandparents did we must do.

The way I was incensed when reading these comments, anyone would think I was a ‘Stan’ (overzealous and obsessed stalker fan). There’s a difference between having strong opinions on a subject and being obsessed with someone or something.

I recommend people, especially females, buy this book. Not only will you find out more things about Toke, if you care to know, but it is a book about overcoming terrible things and becoming great. I like the fact that despite the things that went on in her marriage, she looked within herself acknowledged that she played a part in what happened, even if it was a small part.

E-Readers

I was recently gifted an E-Reader and I underestimated how much I would love it. It’s really convenient having all of your books in one, compact place. That doesn’t mean that I won’t buy actual books. I have so far purchased:

Red Dust by Gillian Slovo – I enjoyed the film which starred Chiwetel Ejiofor, Hilary Swank and  Jamie Bartlett (who popularly plays David Genaro in South Africa’s Rhythm City). The novel is based around South Africa after apartheid and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

A Bit of Difference by Sefi Atta – I have been looking for Africa themed novels and came across Sefi Atta. This story appealed to me and I hope it leads to me purchasing more of her books.

The first book of The No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith – After watching Jill Scott in the BBC series, I fell in love with the stories and Botswana. I am definitely going to buy all of the books and there are many.

As soon as I’m done reading them, I will do a book review.

Lovelyti 

https://youtu.be/2pHHTKZPt3k



Lovelyti is a Nigerian/American Youtuber who talks about serious topics and events that have been on the news and social media topics. I have been watching her for over a year and what I love about her commentary is, she always talks sense and does her research so she’ll have all the facts. I rarely disagree with her opinion and often, she’ll come from an angle that people haven’t thought of.

Rhythm City

Photo taken from ETV (www.etv.co.za)

I love being Nigerian and everything about Nigeria minus the corruption. It’s that bad that I miss Lagos traffic when I’m not there. I nearly love South Africa just as much. I’ve said before that I watch Scandal and last year, it was through Scandal that I came across Rhythm City. The theme song alone is amazing and so is the music featured in the episodes. I watch the episodes on YouTube (before they are taken down) and on ETV which shows it for free online.

So those are five of the things I loved in 2016. I hope that 2017 will be a better year and I stick to the 52 week challenge.


NaijaBrit88

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016, Hello 2017

Leave a Reply

