Hiatus

I’d like to say I’m back after the LONG hiatus I’ve taken from blogging but I’ve said it a few times before and the way it turned out, it’s better I don’t. I miss blogging, I miss writing and I miss the ease with which my ideas would flow as I typed. The hiatus was due to several things including being busy, being busy helping others and going through the usual life struggles because I want to do better and be better. It helps to read motivational quotes (I download them as my phone background) and watch motivational videos. Not all of them because some of them make me roll my eyeballs. Evelyn of Evelyn From The Internets fame recently posted a video that is really good and I have attached it above. It’s not the cliché, sleep inducing kind.

I have been planning on posting for a while, especially since I have more time now, but I didn’t think that it would be just after yet another callous attack on innocent people- the terrorist attack in Manchester which happened a few days ago. There’s a lot I want to say. I could talk about the historical ties and how the terrorists are evil but all of that takes a backseat to the fact the lives were lost. Children died.  I hope those who lost their lives because of this sick individual, rest in perfect peace. I pray for their loved ones. I can only imagine what they are going through.

One of the few things Donald Trump and I will ever agree on is the terrorists are losers. I do fear that this will further increase attacks on muslims. Just like the aftermath of Brexit where racists reared their ugly heads, those who dislike Islam are going to use this as a reason to attack muslims. An 8 year old girl was called a terrorist in school. IN SCHOOL. I’m not surprised because kids can be mean but I wouldn’t be surprised if this was a product of the children’s environments i.e. what they’ve been learning from people around them, especially at home. This is something that she is going to remember for the rest of her life. It really is unfortunate.

Now that I am “back”, I’ve got many things I’m hoping to blog about including book reviews. I have got 15 books that I want to read, one of which I should have completed a LONG time ago. Once I’m done reading them, I will be posting reviews.

I’ve been listening to podcasts more too. The main one is the Loose Talk Podcast from Pulse NG, which I have written about previously, with Steve Dede, Osagie Alonge and AOT2 (Ayomide Tayo). I have also started listening to The Read with Crissles and Kid Fury and WJGB (We Just Got Back). WJGB recently spoke about consent. It was a great episode and talks like this need to be shared in Nigeria.

https://soundcloud.com/wjgb/yours-consentually-no

This is where I end the post. Fingers crossed that more will be coming sooner rather than later. Thank you to everyone who has been reading my posts during the hiatus. It’s nice to know that people are still reading the blog.

NaijaBrit88

Leave a comment